Forum Index > Eagle Nests Across North America - and the World > Other North American Nests with Ground Observers
 Seattle Nest
 |  Printable Version
By: Anonymous: melanie () on Sunday, April 25 2010 @ 08:02 PM EDT (Read 4758 times)  
Anonymous: melanie

Click on image to download I have been observing this pair for five years now. It is located in Seattle Washington. The nest was previously located about a hundred yards south of where it is now and was moved in the winter of 08-09. I have not yet seen a successful fledge from this pair. Last spring there were two chicks. One was smaller and wasn't seen much and the other fell from the nest at about two months. This year we think they laid eggs around March 12. 35 days would have been April 16 but we noticed behavior changes and food coming to the nest on April 14. They are still actively nesting and we are hopeful that in a few weeks we will see that little baby head over the top of the nest. There isn't much to see right now so I will be filling in with pictures from this spring and maybe a couple of last springs chick.
This photo was taken in the morning on Marach 19. This tree "rodeo" is located about 100 feet north of the nest and is a favorite perch.

By: Anonymous: melanie () on Sunday, April 25 2010 @ 08:47 PM EDT  

Click on image to downloadClick on image to downloadClick on image to download