Forum Index > H.W.F. Archives > Archive - All Eagle Nests With Ground Observers
 Saxe Point Park Eagles 2010-2013
 |  Printable Version
By: sassyk (offline) on Wednesday, January 20 2010 @ 07:51 PM EST (Read 48522 times)  
sassyk

Welcome to the Saxe Point Park Eagles thread. This thread is intended for observations, photos and discussion of the Saxe Point Park eagles. This nest is located in Saxe Point Park, which is within the Municipality of Esquimalt. Please feel welcome to post your photos and observations of the Saxe Point Park eagles when you visit their nest area. The Saxe Point Park eagles also spend time at the other end of Munro Street at Fleming Beach/Buxton Green and Macaulay Point. I have been monitoring this nest for a few years and have previously posted reports and photos on the Sidney-Victoria Eagles+Other Wildlife Photos thread here: Sidney-Victoria Eagles+Wildlife Photos prior to setting up a dedicated thread here: Esquimalt Eagles In 2008 this pair successfully fledged 1 eaglet, following a few years of not producing any chicks. They did not produce any chicks in 2009 but I am hoping they will be successful this season.

Here is a photo of the nest taken from the end of the side street across the bay from the nest, taken Aug. 19, 2007.
Click on image to download

Here is a photo of the lone eaglet in the nest wingersizing, taken June 30, 2008.

Here is a photo of the Saxe Pt. Park eagles, perched at the top of their nest tree, taken June Jan. 1, 2009

One touch of nature makes the whole world kin. ~ William Shakespeare
Member since June 2006

Forum

Victoria BC Canada

Profile Email   PM

By: sassyk (offline) on Sunday, January 24 2010 @ 09:43 PM EST  
sassyk

Here is an article that was in the Victoria News weekly paper about the Saxe Pt. Park nest.

vicnews.com
part of BClocalnews.com

Sunday, 6/15/2008 2:28 pm
Victoria News > News > Urban eagles

Urban eagles
June 12, 2008