Forum Index > H.W.F. Archives > Archive - All Eagle Nests With Ground Observers
 Brentwood Bay Eagles 2010 - 2013
 |  Printable Version
By: sassyk (offline) on Wednesday, January 20 2010 @ 12:53 AM EST (Read 18192 times)  
sassyk

Welcome to the Brentwood Bay Eagles dedicated thread. This thread is dedicated to the activities of the Brentwood Bay eagles. The nest is on Wallace Drive near Brentwood Bay, BC. I have been monitoring this nest for several years. Last year the eagles raised 2 eaglets and the previous 2 years they raised 3 eaglets. You will find information and photos of these eagles and their eaglets in the old forum here: Brentwood Bay BC Eagle Nest Please feel free to post observations and photos of the Brentwood Bay Eagles if you happen to visit their nest area.

Here is an article about the youngest eaglet born in 2007, who tried to fly from the nest before it was ready. His 2 siblings had already fledged.

Young eagle rescued after Central Saanich crash

By Times Colonist (Victoria)July 19, 2007

Flying ambitions overtook the skill level of a young bald eagle in Central Saanich yesterday.

The fledgling did more plummeting than soaring after leaving its nest in a cottonwood tree just off Wallace Drive. The panicked bird then flapped about wildly between cars, unable to re-launch itself.

Traffic in the 7100-block of Wallace Drive slowed to a crawl and a crowd started to gather as Central Saanich parks staff, who were working nearby, rushed into action to protect the young bird.

The eagle's day was about to get worse.

Jeff Krieger of Alternative Wildlife Services, who was called in to capture the bird, watched in dismay as the fledgling fell into a deep ditch filled with water.

"I had to jump into the culvert up to my neck to get it out. It looked as if it was drowning," he said.

The eagle was taken to the SPCA's Wild ARC to dry out and for a medical checkup. If it is fit, it will be released back into the area as soon as possible.